Skip to main content

It goes without saying that the political changes that took place in the capital of the Ottoman Empire during the early years of the twentieth century and before World War I, including the proclamation of the Constitutional Regime in 1908, deposing of The Sultan Abdülhamid II in 1909, taking over of power by the Committee of Union and Progress, the Italian occupation of Libya and thereafter the Balkan wars, had huge repercussions on the Ottoman Arab States. In this regard, the stance taken by Sheikh Jassim bin Mohammed Al Thani concerning the Balkan wars was based on direct participation and contribution by way of supporting the war subsidies campaign in favor of the Ottoman Empire. Sheikh Jassim responded to invitation of Mr. Taleb Alnaqeep - the envoy of Basra State to Ottoman Council and the Principal of the Military Subsidies Commission in Basra during the Balkan wars – by donating 25 thousand rupees, equivalent to 1832 Ottoman liras in support of the Ottoman war effort.

In this regard, Sheikh Jassim sent a brief cable on 10 March 1913 to the Ottoman Interior Ministry, in which he indicated his financial support to the Ottoman State in its war against the Balkan countries, which reads: "Based on the request made by Mr. Taleb, principal of Military Subsidies Commission in Basra, we hereby donate one thousand and thirty-two Ottoman liras. Please advise the Islamic Caliphate on the same".

In his turn, Mr. Taleb Alnaqeep sent a telegraph in Turkish language at the same date to the Ottoman Interior Ministry confirming the stance taken by Sheikh Jassim and the people of Qatar concerning raising military subsidies, and requesting the Interior Ministry to take the necessary measures as to see to the issue of the appropriate appreciation by the Sultan in favor of Sheikh Jassim to honor his stance and contribution in this area.

Perhaps, one of the most important outcomes of the Balkan wars in the Gulf region in general and in Qatar in particular, is that the Ottoman Empire was compelled to settle pending political disagreements with Britain in the Gulf of Basra and to see to relinquish its sovereignty over Qatar and Kuwait by signing London Convention on July 29, 1913, at a time upon which the Ottoman Empire was involved in the Balkan wars and under such conditions whereby Qatar and the Gulf region were witnessing the climax of political rivalry between Britain and the Ottoman Empire.

Although the Ottoman State pledged to withdraw from Qatar according to the above-mentioned Convention, they were able to make Britain agree to continue keeping Qatar under the management of Sheikh Jassim bin Mohammed Al Thani and his sons thereafter.

In conclusion, as far as the personality of Sheikh Jassim bin Mohammed Al Thani and his stances towards events are concerned, it can be said that historians may differ in their analysis of the stances taken by Sheikh Jassim throughout his lifetime in terms of military and political changes that took place in Qatar and the region, which is attributable to the different references used by historians as well as their cultural and intellectual backgrounds.

However, all historians concur that Sheikh Jassim is a Qatari powerful historical leader by whom a great attention was given to Islamic cohesion, and that he played influential role in the events of his time either at the local or regional levels as well as in terms of the decisions made by the great powers which had direct connections with Qatar and the region during his reign.

This material is quoted from a research entitled “The Stance taken by Sheikh Jassim bin Mohammed Al Thani towards the Balkan Wars” delivered by Dr. Sinan Marouf Oglu, Associate Professor of History Program, College of Arts and Sciences (Qatar University), in the Founder Symposium, National Day Celebrations 2008



Top
 
.

تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
لاشك بأن المتغيرات السياسية التي حدثت في عاصمة الدولة العثمانية خلال السنوات الأولى من القرن العشرين وقبل الحرب العالمية الأولى من إعلان النظام الدستوري في عام 1908 وخلع السلطان عبدالحميد الثاني في عام 1909 ووصول جمعية الاتحاد والترقي إلى السلطة والاحتلال الايطالي لليبيا، وبعدها حروب البلقان كانت لها انعكاسات كبيرة في الولايات العربية العثمانية. ولقد برز موقف الشيخ جاسم بن محمد بن ثاني من حروب البلقان من خلال المشاركة والمساهمة المباشرة بدعم حملة الإعانات الحربية لصالح الدولة العثمانية، فقد لبى الشيخ جاسم دعوة السيد طالب النقيب مبعوث ولاية البصرة لمجلس المبعوثان العثماني، وناظر لجنة الاعانات الحربية في البصرة خلال حروب البلقان، فتبرع بمبلغ قدره 25 ألف روبية أي ما يعادل 1832 ليرة عثمانية للمجهود الحربي العثماني.

 

وفي هذا الصدد ، فقد أرسل الشيخ جاسم بتاريخ 10 مارس 1913 تلغرافا مختصراً إلى وزارة الداخلية العثمانية يوضح دعمه للدولة العثمانية بالمال في حربها ضد دول البلقان جاء فيه: «بناءاً على تشويقات عطوفيت السيد طالب بك ناظر قومسيون إعانات الحربية في البصرة، قدمنا ألف وثمانماية واثنين وثلاثين ليرة عثمانية، المرجو عرض ذلك لأعتاب الخلافة الإسلامية».

 

وقد أيد السيد طالب النقيب موقف الشيخ جاسم وأهالي قطر ذوى الحمية في المساهمة بجمع الإعانات الحربية بتلغراف أرسله هو الآخر في نفس التاريخ وباللغة التركية إلى وزارة الداخلية العثمانية، راجيا إياها بذل المساعي اللازمة لإستصدار التقدير المناسب من مقام السلطان للشيخ جاسم تكريماً لموقفه ومساهمته في هذا المجال.

 

ولعل من أبرز نتائج حروب البلقان في منطقة الخليج عامة وفي قطر خاصة هو إضطرار الدولة العثمانية إلى تسوية الخلافات السياسية العالقة مع بريطانيا في خليج البصرة والتخلي عن سيادتها على قطر والكويت من خلال عقد إتفاقية لندن بتاريخ 29 تموز 1913 في وقت كانت الدولة العثمانية تخوض فيه حروب البلقان وفي ظروف كانت قطر ومنطقة الخليج تشهد ذروة التنافس السياسي بين بريطانيا والدولة العثمانية.

 

وعلى الرغم من تعهد الدولة العثمانية بالإنسحاب من قطر وفق الاتفاقية المذكورة، إلا أنها استطاعت أن تجعل بريطانيا توافق على إبقاء إدارة قطر كما كانت بأيدي الشيخ جاسم بن محمد بن ثاني وأبنائه من بعده وفي الختام وفي صدد شخصية الشيخ جاسم بن محمد بن ثاني ومواقفه من الاحداث التي عاصره يمكن القول بان المؤرخون قد يختلفون في تحليلهم لمواقف الشيخ جاسم طوال حياته من المتغيرات السياسية والعسكرية التي وقعت في قطر والمنطقة نتيجة اختلاف مصادر المؤرخين وخلفياتهم الثقافية والفكرية.

 

ولكن ما لا يختلف عليه إثنان من المؤرخين هو أنهم أمام شخصية قيادية تاريخية قطرية قوية مؤمنة حريصة على الجامعة الاسلامية مؤثرة في مجريات الاحداث في عصره سواء على الصعيد المحلي او الاقليمي وفي قرارات القوى العظمى التي كانت لها صلات مباشرة بقطر وبالمنطقة خلال عهده.

 

مادة منقولة من بحث بعنوان موقف الشيخ جاسم بن محمد بن ثاني من حروب البلقان قام به الاستاذ الدكتور : سنان معروف أوغلو الأستاذ المشارك» في برنامج التاريخ - كلية الآداب والعلوم (جامعة قطر)، ندوة المؤسس، احتفالات اليوم الوطني 2008

.