Skip to main content

The Founder, Sheikh Jassim bin Mohammed Al Thani, God's mercy may be upon his soul, opened his heart and country to the Ottoman Empire and allowed the Ottoman garrison to enter the country in July 1871 based on his belief in the Islamic caliphate and Islamic unanimity as well as to resist the growing British influence at the time. Therefore Britain resorted to create several problems to Sheikh Jassim with his neighbors, and exercised a lot of pressure on him; accusing him sometimes of piracy and at other times of persecuting British subject traders. However, those pressures failed to make Sheikh Jassim discontinue the policy he adopted with the Ottoman Empire or his refusal to be under the British protection. In this regard, instead of the Ottoman Empire strengthening its relationship with the ruler of Qatar (Sheikh Jassem) and backing him against such British schemes aimed at undermining the relationship between the two countries, i.e. Qatar and the Ottoman Empire, they worked to sabotage the relations with Sheikh Jassim by carrying out particular measures that did not serve the national interest. These were represented in the establishment of the Department of Customs, and imposition of taxes on traders including imposition of taxes on the sale of pearls. Such Ottoman procedures were opposed by Sheikh Jassim who believed that such actions would increase the financial burden on citizens, which could have driven them to migrate from the country. Nonetheless, driven by their bad need for money to spend on their military forces, the Ottoman authorities insisted on implementing their scheme unconcerned with its potential impacts on the living conditions of the citizens. This Turkey's determination on implementation of its policy, resulted in the resignation of Sheikh Jassim from his position as the Qaemakam (District Commissioner), where he informed the Wali of Basra - Mohammed Hafiz Pasha – of his decision on resignation in January 1893. Although the Wali (Governor) refused his resignation and asked Sheikh Jassim to continue in office, the Sheikh did not withdraw his decision, but instead moved from Doha to Aldain area, and then moved to Al-Wajba. The Wali of Basra, Muhammad Hafiz Pasha, arrived in Doha on 14 February 1893 via Ahsa claiming to re-ensure security in Qatar, where he was based in Doha. Shortly after his arrival, he sent a letter to Sheikh Jassim who was located in Al-Wajba area asking him to come to the Headquarters in Doha to be inquired about the complaints received against him from the British and others. However, Sheikh Jassim, who would not feel at ease with the intentions of the Ottoman governor, apologized for not attending, saying in his letter that his health would not allow him to attend and that he had delegated his brother Sheikh Ahmed. But the Wali considered Sheikh Jassim failure to meet him as a rejection and insurgency against the Ottoman Empire, therefore he arrested Sheikh Ahmed and his 16 escorts. On the 13th of March 1893, the Ottoman governor led a large force and headed towards Al-Wajba to arrest Sheikh Jassem and bring him to trial. Been aware of the Turkish preparations and the force marching towards him, Sheikh Jassim prepared his troops and provided with arms, ammunition, food and water, and positioned in key positions on the roads predicted to be taken by the Turkish troops. His plan was evidenced to be a success, where the Turkish forces caught by the trap of his troops to suffer a crushing defeat after a fierce battle that lasted from ten o'clock am to five pm, during which a large number of Ottoman forces were killed including Joseph Effendi, commander of the Ottoman forces. The Wali Mohammad Hafez, who was positioned in the back of his troops, fled to Mars, a Turkish ship moored in the seaport of Doha.

The most significant consequences of Al-Wajba battle was that the Ottoman Sultan immediately deposed the Wali of Basra, Hafiz Pasha, by reason of his unwise policy that unexpectedly inflicted humiliation upon the Ottoman State which revealed failure of its policy. As a result thereof and shortly after, the Ottoman State conducted an investigation that concluded to a resolution made by Sultan Abdulhamid on his full appreciation of Sheikh Jassim bin Muhammad who demonstrated his position and confirmed his commitment to the Ottoman State despite all the earlier happenings.

This material is quoted from a research entitled “The Stance taken by Sheikh Jassim bin Mohammed Al Thani towards the British-Ottoman Competition” prepared by Dr. Abdul Qadir bin Hamoud Al-Qahtani, Associate Professor at the College of Arts and Sciences (Qatar University) for the Founder Symposium on the occasion of the National Day Celebrations 2008.



Top
 
.

تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

مادة منقولة من بحث بعنوان "موقف الشيخ جاسم بن محمد بن ثاني من التنافس العثماني البريطاني" أعده الدكتور عبدالقادر بن حمود القحطاني (أستاذ مشارك) في كلية الآداب والعلوم- جامعة قطر لندوة المؤسس، بمناسبة احتفالات اليوم الوطني 2008.

فتح المؤسس الشيخ جاسم بن محمد بن ثاني رحمه الله قلبه وبلاده للدولة العثمانية وسمح للحامية العثمانية بدخول البلاد في يوليو 1871 إيمانا منه بالخلافة والجامعة الاسلامية ولصد النفوذ البريطاني المتزايد في ذلك الوقت. وقد لجأت بريطانيا إلى خلق الكثير من المشاكل للشيخ جاسم، مع جيرانه، ومارست الكثير من الضغوط عليه؛ فتارة تتهمه بالقرصنة البحرية، وتارة أخرى تتهمة باضطهاد رعاياها التجار ، ولكن كل تلك الضغوط لم تثن الشيخ جاسم عن سياسته مع الدولة العثمانية، ورفضه الحماية البريطانية، وبدلاً من أن تقوم الدولة العثمانية بتوثيق علاقتها بحاكم قطر الشيخ جاسم، وتقف إلى جانبه ضد المخططات البريطانية التي تستهدف القضاء على علاقة البلدين قطر والدولة العثمانية، عملت على تخريب العلاقات مع الشيخ جاسم بالقيام ببعض الاستحداثات التي لا تخدم المصلحة الوطنية تمثلت في إنشاء دائرة للجمارك وفرض الضرائب على التجار، وكذلك فرض الضرائب على بيع اللؤلؤ، وقد عارض الشيخ جاسم تلك الإجراءات العثمانية التي رأى أنها ستؤدي إلى زيادة الأعباء المالية على المواطنين وقد يدفعهم ذلك إلى الهجرة خارج البلاد. ولكن السلطات العثمانية أصرت على تنفيذ مخططها غير عابئة بما قد يترتب على الأوضاع المعيشية للمواطنين؛ لأنها كانت في حاجة للمال للإنفاق على قواتها العسكرية. وقد أدى هذا الإصرار التركي على تنفيذ سياستها إلى استقالة الشيخ جاسم من القائمقامية، وأبلغ والي البصرة محمد حافظ باشا في يناير 1893، بقراره بالاستقالة، ومع أن الوالي رفض الاستقالة وطلب من الشيخ الاستمرار في منصبه، فإن الشيخ لم يتراجع عن قراره، ونقل مقر إقامته من الدوحة إلى منطقة الضعاين، وبعد فترة انتقل إلى منطقة الوجبة. وصل والي البصرة محمد حافظ باشا، إلى الدوحة يوم 14 فبراير 1893، عن طريق الأحساء بدعوى إعادة الأمن في قطر إلى نصابه، واتخذ من القيادة العثمانية بالدوحة مقراً لإقامته. وبعد وصوله بعث برسالة إلى الشيخ جاسم الموجود في منطقة الوجبة، يدعوه للحضور إلى مقره للاستفسار عن الشكاوي التي تلقاها ضده من الإنجليز وغيرهم، لكن الشيخ الذي كان غير مطمئن لنوايا الوالي العثماني، اعتذر عن عدم الحضور قائلاً في رسالته الجوابية أن صحته لا تسمح له بالحضور وأنه قد أناب عنه أخاه الشيخ أحمد . ولكن الوالي اعتبر عدم تلبية الشيخ جاسم لدعوته بمثابة رفض وتمرد على الدولة العثمانية، فأقدم على اعتقال الشيخ أحمد والمرافقين له وعددهم 16 شخصاً. وفي يوم 13 مارس 1893، قاد الوالي العثماني قوة كبيرة وتوجه صوب الوجبة بقصد إلقاء القبض على الشيخ جاسم وتقديمه للمحاكمة، ولكن الشيخ جاسم كان قد علم بالاستعدادات التركية وبتحركها نحو مقره، وأعد قواته وزودها بالسلاح والذخيرة والمواد الغذائية والمياه، ووضعت في مواقع مهمة على الطرق التي سوف تسلكها القوات التركية، ونجحت خطته حيث وقعت القوات التركية في مصيدة قواته وأنزلت بالقوات المعتدية هزيمة ساحقة بعد معركة شرسة استمرت من الساعة العاشرة صباحا حتى الخامسة مساء، قتل فيها عدد كبير من القوات العثمانية كان يوسف أفندي قائد القوات العثمانية من بين القتلى، وفر الوالي محمد حافظ الذي كان في مؤخرة قواته إلى الباخرة التركية المريخ الراسية في ميناء الدوحة.


وكانت أهم نتائج معركة الوجبة أن سارع السلطان العثماني بعزل والي البصرة حافظ باشا بسبب سياسته الحمقاء التي ألحقت المهانة بالدولة العثمانية على نحو لم يكن مقدراً مما كشف عن فشل سياستها لذلك لم تلبث أن أجرت تحقيقاً، انتهى بأن قرر السلطان عبد الحميد تقديره لشخص الشيخ جاسم بن محمد حق قدره، لتوضيحه موقفه وتمسكه بالدولة العثمانية رغم كل ما حدث.

 

.